Back to Blog

Tween Comic Club is a place for comic lovers ages 9-14 to discuss what they are reading each month.  Here is the latest list of the books we’ve been talking about and that our tween readers recommend!  Follow the links to check out a copy for yourself.  And don’t forget to join a Tween Comic Club meeting if you would like to learn how you can submit your own recommendations to our feature!  We typically meet on the third Tuesday of each month.  Find our next meeting on the events calendar.

A Box of Bones by Marina Cohen

Kallie believes that everything has a rational explanation, so when a mysterious man gives her a puzzle box, she decides that it cannot be magical.  But when she opens the box, she lets something out.  Now her world is beginning to get tangled up with one ruled by a wicked queen.  A prose novel.

The Doctor says: “Box of Bones is about a girl who is handed a mysterious box at a fair and then strange things start happening with her life. The book has an intriguing mystery, exciting plot twists, and relatable characters. It’s a book you’ll want to read in one sitting just to find out what is going to happen.

Friends Forever by Shannon Hale, LeUyen Pham

Now in eighth grade, Shannon hopes things will get better.  She has a new friend group, she is active in drama club, and she is determined to succeed in school.  But it’s still not enough.  To really fit in, Shannon thinks she needs to be pretty, popular, and fashionable.  And maybe have a boyfriend, like everyone else.  Can she find happiness just the way she is?  Book three in the Friends series.

Ms. Krysta says: “Shannon Hale and LeUyen have done it again!  In the third book of the Friends series, the team empathetically depicts Shannon’s eighth grade year.  Though she thinks it will be her best one yet, she soon starts to feel as if she’ll never be good enough.  She’ll need the help of her friends to learn to accept herself the way she is.  Perfect for fans of Smile and Roller Girl.”

Tea Dragon Series by K. O’Neill

In book one, young blacksmith apprentice Greta finds a lost tea dragon in the marketplace, and learns the dying art of tea dragon care from tea shop owners Hesekiel and Erik.  Book two flashes back to the adventures of Hesekiel and Erik’s younger days, as they investigate the mystery of an enchanted dragon.  Book three reunites readers with Greta as she and her friend Minette try to determine what paths they want to take to create their futures.

Ms. Faith says: Tea Dragon Society this was a great book! Beautiful illustrations, a cute story, and fun backmatter. Can’t wait to read the next one!

Tea Dragon Festival – This started out a little confusing until I realized that it was somewhat a prequel. Still told a great story, included amazing illustrations, and more informative and lively backmatter. I also really liked the inclusion of sign language in this book.

Tea Dragon Tapestry This was a really happy conclusion to stories and characters that the first book brought to life and I loved that it included some characters from the second book, as well. It was a beautiful ending to a really great story. A perfect trilogy for graphic novel lovers everywhere.

The series as a whole – absolutely beautiful illustrations with a nice story and a fun element added with the adorable tea dragons and the fantasy element that they bring to life. I loved the backmatter in each book that included the descriptions of the tea dragons, their history and quarks, and much more. This was a really fun series to read and enjoy.”

Katana at Super Hero High by Lisa Yee

Katana attends school to become a superhero, so she has enough to worry about before being instructed by a mysterious presence to guard 100 swords.  Then a villain from her past emerges.  Can she and her friends save the day–and still get their homework done in time?  Book four in the DC Super Hero Girls series.  A prose novel.  Also check out the DC Superhero Girls graphic novels.

Blue Sky says: Katana has been entrusted to guard 100 swords, and strange ghost crabs follow her everyday. She finds out the swords have ties to her female samurai grandmother. And a fellow villain from her grandmother’s past returns to take a legendary sword. It’s really cool!”

Previous Recommendations: