Back to Blog

Tween Comic Club is a place for comic lovers ages 9-14 to discuss what they are reading each month.  Here is the latest list of the books we’ve been talking about and that our tween readers recommend!  Follow the links to check out a copy for yourself.  And don’t forget to join a Tween Comic Club meeting if you would like to learn how you can submit your own recommendations to our feature!  We typically meet on the third Tuesday of each month.  Find our next meeting on the events calendar.

Thirteen Witches: The Memory Thief by Jodi Lynn Anderson

Rosie’s mom has always seemed incapable of love.  Then, Rosie finds a book that claims thirteen witches create evil in the world.  One of them, the Memory Thief, has cursed Rosie’s mom.  Now Rosie must go on a quest to become a witch hunter and save her family.  This prose novel is the first in a series.  Recommended for fans of The Okay Witch and Witches of Brooklyn.

Skylan B. says: “I like this book.  The beginning is a little depressing.  But once you move on with the story, it’s really awesome!”

Jukebox by Nidhi Chanani

When her father goes missing, Shaheen starts to investigate along with her cousin Tannaz.  Their search leads them to a magical jukebox, which takes them back in time!  The cousins are enthralled by the ability to experience important moments in history.  But what if Shaheen’s father is trapped in the past?  By the author of Pashmina.

Ms. Krysta says: Jukebox is a fast-paced story that takes readers back in time to pivotal moments in American history.  Readers will enjoy not only the mystery behind Shaheen’s father’s disappearance, but also the opportunity to experience snapshots from the past, such as a lindy hop competition and the March for the Equal Rights Amendment.  Tidbits of music history are also scattered throughout the book.  A fun book that may just inspire readers to learn more about the people and the moments that are introduced.”

Suki, Alone by Faith Erin Hicks

Captured by Princess Azula and sent to Boiling Rock, Suki refuses to give up, even though she is separated from her sisters in the Kyoshi Warriors.  Slowly, she begins to gain the trust of the other prisoners and to inspire them to find a way to fight back against the Fire Nation.  But does she have the strength to keep going?

Ms. Krysta says: “This graphic novel takes place between episodes of Avatar: The Last Airbender, showing readers Suki’s experiences at the Boiling Rock prison.  It will mainly appeal to fans of the TV series, especially those who wanted more of Suki’s backstory.  An uplifting, if brief, read.”

Rose Coffin by M. P. Kozlowsky

Rose Coffin is always being teased.  So one day she runs to the woods, where she is whisked away to a magical world, where everyone loves her.  The only problem?  They love her because they want her to die–she is to be a sacrifice to appease an evil known as the Abomination!  A prose novel, perfect for fans of Be Wary of the Silent Woods.

The Doctor says: “In the book, a girl named Rose Coffins runs into the forest to get away from her problems and ends up kidnapped and taken to a strange world called Eppersett, because she is supposed to be the sacrifice to help stop a great evil called the Abomination.  Rose Coffin blends a fantasy adventure story with relatable characters and problems, along with excellent worldbuilding and character development.”

The Secret Garden: A Graphic Novel Adapted by Mariah Marsden

When Mary arrives at her uncle’s manor on the Yorkshire moors, she has no idea what to expect.  Soon, however, a robin leads her to the door of a secret garden, a garden no one seems to have touched in years.  The magic of the garden soons works upon Mary and her friends, and begins to melt even the iciest of hearts.

Ms. Krysta says: “This graphic novel adaptation of Frances Hodgson Burnett’s book begins with Mary’s arrival at Misselthwaite Manor, where she immediately finds the entrance to the secret garden.  The plot proceeds at a fast pace, showing Mary’s budding friendship with Dickon and Colin, and the ways in which nature works upon the trio to lift their spirits and improve their health.  The adaptation shines most with its depiction of blossoming flowers and blooming relationships.  A sweet introduction to a beloved story.”

Previous Recommendations: