Back to Blog

Tween Comic Club is a place for comic lovers ages 9-14 to discuss what they are reading each month.  Here is the latest list of the books we’ve been talking about and that our tween readers recommend!  Follow the links to check out a copy for yourself.  And don’t forget to join a Tween Comic Club meeting if you would like to learn how you can submit your own recommendations to our feature!  We typically meet on the third Tuesday of each month.  Find our next meeting on the events calendar.

Peter & Ernesto: A Tale of Two Sloths by Graham Annable

Peter and Ernest are sloths, and best friends.  But Ernest wants to travel the world, while Peter wants to stay home.  When Ernesto leaves, however, he discovers the value of home, even as Peter learns to look beyond his tree.

Ms. Faith says: “Peter and Ernesto are two happy sloth friends who share a tree and both love to look up at the sky.  One day Ernest decides that there is more sky out there and he wants to see more of it.  Leaving behind his best friend Peter, Ernesto sets out an adventure.  Peter, however, is not happy about being left behind, nor is he convinced that Ernesto will be okay all by himself, so he sets out to find him.  Both Peter and Ernest have an incredible adventure that eventually leads them both back to each other, and their friendship is even stronger afterwards.  A quick and easy read that will leave you feeling warm and happy all over.”

Almost American Girl by Robin Ha

Robin’s mom tells her that they are going on vacation to the United States–but their vacation becomes permanent when her mom gets remarried.  Feeling lost and alone, Robin has to navigate middle school with only a basic understanding of English and without the help of her new step-sisters.  Only when her mom enrolls her in a local comics class does Robin start making new friends and imagining a brighter future.  A graphic novel memoir.

Ms. Krysta says:Almost American Girl is a moving account of one girl’s journey to belong.  Getting through middle school can be tough for anyone, but Robin has to do it without really knowing the language.  Her story will inspire readers to be more empathetic towards and accepting of others.” 

Blades of Freedom by Nathan Hale

How are the Louisiana Purchase, the Haitian Revolution, and yellow fever connected? Find out in the latest installment of Nathan Hale’s quirky guides to lesser-known history.

Ms. Krysta says: “Nathan Hale has a talent for recounting American history and making it fun.  In Blades of Freedom, he adds a dash of humor to the stories of the Louisiana Purchase and the Haitian Revolution by introducing a talking mosquito as one of his characters from history.  However, he still gives the serious parts of history the appropriate gravitas, and readers will learn a lot about history without even realizing the book is teaching them something.”

Diary of a Wimpy Kid Series by Jeff Kinney

This humorous series follows protagonist Greg Heffley as he attempts to become popular in middle school, survive embarrassing incidents, impress his crushes, and deal with other life changes such as a new pet.

Sukoi J. says: “I read the original, the first book.  It was very cool and some parts in the book are very relatable.  Greg is a very funny character with just normal, but funny, teenage problems.”

The Okay Witch by Emma Steinkellner

When thirteen-year-old Moth Hush learns that her mother is a witch, and has been keeping it secret for decades, she will have to decide: does she want to join her grandmother and the other witches in Hecate or can she claim her magic and still live in a town with a history of witch hunts?

Ms. Krysta says: “Moth Hush had no idea that her family was at the center of a centuries-old witch hunt involving her Massachusetts town.  But now that she’s discovered her powers–and her family history–she has to decide if she wants to claim her magic and, if so, whether her town is worth saving.  This coming-of-age story features a supernatural twist as Moth learns to trust in herself and find her place in her family and her town.  A talking cat adds a dash of humor, making The Okay Witch a graphic novel more fun than spooky.  Perfect for fans of Snapdragon and Witches of Brooklyn.”

Previous Recommendations: