Back to Blog
*CCPL Staff picks are chosen by CCPL staff members and are not intended to be comprehensive lists. We’d love to hear your ideas too, so write to us and tell us what you’d recommend!*

Want to get started with a workout regime that you may actually enjoy? Or, maybe you just like to curl up on the couch and read about sports. Either way, Charles County Public Library has you covered. Check out these great Sports books:

The Young Champion’s Mind: How to Think, Train, and Thrive Like an Elite Athlete by Jim Afremow, PhD.

Jim Afremow, award-winning coach and sports psychologist, who has teamed up with Olympians and professional athletes has now made his sage advice available to young adults, as well. A must read for any student athlete who is having trouble balancing their grades, their time, or just looking to get an edge in their athletic life. With tips and customizable routines, this book is a must have for any student athlete. 

Stamina Training for Teen Athletes: Exercises to Take Your Game to the Next Level by Shane Frederick

Are you looking to get back into the hustle and bustle of sport season? Are you being encouraged to try a new sport? This book by Sports Illustrated Kids can help you get there. According to reviews, this book will help you to “Finish as strong as you start with these stamina building tips and exercises.” (Goodreads.com).

Orca Sports Series books by various authors offer a fictional perspective on multiple sports for all interests and ages.

You can find the entire Orca Sports Series on Hoopla as well as our Library’s Catalog

All the Things We Never Knew by Liara Tamini

For fans of Elizabeth Acevedo, Jacqueline Woodson, and Jenny Han comes a rich and poignant novel about love, family, heartbreak, healing, and basketball. Carli and Rex are both the stars of respective high school basketball teams and when they fall in love with each other they realize that life is full of secrets.

Geese Are Never Swans by Eva Clark, created by Kobe Bryant

Before his tragic death in early 2020, Kobe Bryant was writing a novel for teens that was his passion for three long years. With the help of author Eva Clark, Bryant’s dream is now a reality with this new YA Novel about the power of determination. 

For more nonfiction books about all things sports and athletes, check out the library’s database, and Overdrive. For fiction books about sports, check out the library’s database, and Overdrive.